Mommy Soup

How soup for 7 really works.

A New Leaf

on January 10, 2013

This is going to be a long, all over the place post.  We did a lot this week and it was all so much fun that I have to tell you about it.  Stick with me, people.  I’ve got some fun ideas.

I hate resolutions.  I think they’re crap.  If you aren’t willing to make those changes during the rest of the year, why do you think changing a calender is going to change your life?  I didn’t make any resolutions, but I decided to take advantage of all the planning sites that go up around this time of year to help refine the stuff I already do.

I found and modified a cleaning calender to help organize all the stuff I have to do.  7 days into the new year, and I already feel less overwhelmed by all the cleaning I do.  Being able to check it off makes me feel less like I’m not getting anything done.  It’s amazing just how much I do when I write it down.  I thought I was much lazier.

On a more fun note, my husband and I decided to make the first weekend of the new year a playful and productive one.  We found that our fire place generates more warmth than our heater (and is way more fun).  We found a tree cutter (from a big family) who gave us enough wood for the rest of the winter FOR FREE!!!  We don’t have an ax, so Ant spent a few hours with a skill saw splitting it.  Pretty amusing.  🙂

fireplace

We also invited Ant’s cousin (Grace) and my BFF (Andy) over for dinner and candy making.  Yeah, that was fun.  There were chocolate Darth Vaders and vanilla Storm Troopers everywhere.  I think I might start selling these things, because they’re awesome!  Oh, and thanks to my husband’s secret recipe turkey burgers and mac and cheese made with Star of David pasta I got on sale, feeding 9 people only cost us about $10.  Yeah, that’s how we roll.

Storm Trooper Chocolate Vader Chocolate

I also had the unfortunate experience of giving myself a mild chemical burn with some stuff that had expired.  Great inspiration for cleaning out my crap.  And clearing out all my make up and nail polish gave me and the kids a chance to do another fun art project.  About 2 years ago, Persephone and Dimitrios helped me “paint” a poster board with all my old make up.  Lots of red lipstick and blue eyeliner went into that.  This time, Lucius and Calandra got to do it, too.  Mascaras, eye shadows, and glitter in every color made it onto this one.  It now holds a place of honor next to the last one in our main room.  Excellent use of some crap I would have just thrown out.

art

I did the same thing with a bunch of nail polish that had split and couldn’t be used anymore.  I did some drip art with it and covered all the wet polish with nail shimmer.  It came out way better than I thought it would and, once again, it was an excellent use of some stuff I would have just thrown out.

Nail Polish Art

Clearing out all that stuff emptied out almost everything from under my sink and in my medicine cabinet (my husband and I have our own sinks and stuff) and now I have enough room to try something I saw on Pinterest.  Goddesses help me, I’m officially a Pinner.

Leave a Reply

