Mommy Soup

How soup for 7 really works.

Back Labor

on January 22, 2013

A friend of mine recently posted her birth story.  She had back labor and it got me thinking about all the times I had heard about other people who had back labor.  It’s supposed to be terrible, far worse than “regular” labor.  

Back labor is typically caused by 1 of 2 things:

1) a baby who is facing the wrong way (with the hard back of their head pressed against the mother’s tailbone instead of facing the other way)

or

2) the natural wiring of the mother’s nervous system.

An example of the second cause is where a woman feels menstrual cramps.  If they’re in the front, that’s how you’re wired.  If you feel them in your back, you’ll probably have back labor.  My whole life, my cramps have always been in my back.  Of my 5 children, all 5 had what can be described as back labor.  That means I don’t really have any understanding of what “regular” feels like.  Even then, I’ve felt a lot of different things.  Oh, and baby number 5 was born facing the wrong way.  Technically, that means my 5th labor was double back labor.

You know what?  I don’t see what all the fuss is about.  Pushing out a baby hurts.  No one who has had a natural childbirth will ever say that it felt like going to a spa.  It’s uncomfortable.  But the pain of back labor isn’t an impossible task to push through.  It’s just a literal pain in the ass instead of a pain in the gut.

End rant.

Leave a Reply

