Mommy Soup

How soup for 7 really works.

Remember me?

on April 10, 2013

I haven’t written in awhile because things have been super busy and extra crazy.  But now that I’m a little sick, I’m forcing myself to sit down on my couch while my kids play.  Suddenly, I have free time and an open lap for my lap top.  🙂

First off, a little review of why I’ve been so busy.  As some of you guys know, I have a small business called MommySoup.  Because I’m a “Hope for the best/Prepare for the worst” kind of person, I don’t cut out and make all of the things that I sell in the store.  That way, if a product doesn’t sell, I haven’t cut out all that fabric.  I can use it for the many clothes my children always seem to need.  Well, my store has gotten really popular.  Things are selling out!  I’m basically making the products to order with a 1-3 day window for delivery.  Not a problem if I sell 1 diaper a day…but for the last month, I’ve been averaging about 5 diaper orders a day.  And wet bags.  And bibs.  I’ve literally been sewing all night.  Like, put the kids to bed, snuggle the husband…and get up and sew after he has fallen asleep.  Not much time for blogging with that level of madness.  On top of that, Persephone just cracked compound addition (with carrying).  She wants to do it constantly.  And Dimitrios just cracked reading, so now he wants to read everything.  Really exciting, but I’m a homeschooler so I’m the only one for them to do it with!  And then I’ve been cooking everything from scratch, so that’s time consuming.

Oh, and I now have a housemate.  One of my husband’s best friends came out here from Virginia.  He’s now living with us and working with my husband.  Think about that…8 people in a 3 bedroom house.  Crazy!  Luckily, he’s actually really cool.  He likes the kids and doesn’t expect me to take care of him.  The men turned the garage into a “man cave” with a bed and stuff for him.  He hides in there when we overwhelm him.

Pretty good excuses not to blog, right?

In other news…Theron is going to turn 1 this month.  I don’t do birthday parties, but I still make special cakes.  Persephone wants to help me make a moose shaped cake and I need to make her a new moose diaper.

Calandra, who also answers to “Monkey,” is currently climbing a tree and teaching her older siblings how to do it.  Better get back to baby wrangling!

Leave a Reply

