Mommy Soup

How soup for 7 really works.

The Campbells: An Urban Legend

on April 16, 2013

According to Wikipedia, “An urban legendurban mythurban tale, or contemporary legend, is a form of modern folklore consisting of stories that may or may not have been believed by their tellers to be true.”  Most of the time, these stories happened to a “friend of a friend.”  I’ve heard many in my life and was even in the target audience age range when the movie came out.  🙂

I have now become an urban legend.

Well, not just me.  My whole family has become an urban legend.

That sounds really self centered of me to say, doesn’t it.  Just give me a minute to explain before you decide that I’m crazy.

I was in Target the other day.  It was late in the evening and all 5 of my kids were at home with Ant (the husband) and Aaron (the houseguest).  I actually know about 80% of the staff at my local Target and they can recognize our family.  Anyway, I was chatting with the woman in front of me about her kids.  She asked me if I had any.  I giggled and said yes.  The cashier (who didn’t recognize me without my flock) told the woman in front of me, “We have a young lady who comes in here all the time with her kids.  She can’t be more than 25, but she’s got, like, 5 kids!  They’re all super well behaved.  I always remember them because I talked to their mom and her middle name is the same as my first name.”  I was taken aback and couldn’t help laughing out loud.  They cashier and the woman both looked at me.  

You see, I recognized the cashier.  Her name is Jamila.  That’s my middle name.  She was talking about me.  I was her urban legend.

After my laughing fit passed, I told her that she was talking about me.  “Are you sure?” she asked me.  “Yes, I’m the one with the same middle name as your first name and I have 5 kids.  But, thank you for thinking I’m under 25.  I just turned 29.”

Now, think about those urban legend stories you hear.  You know, the ones about the women who don’t know they’re in labor and give birth on the side of the road.  Or the one about that lady who has been breastfeeding for 5 years.  How about the one about the city dweller who grows their own food?  Or the family that homeschools a large number of children?

See where I’m going?

My family is a local urban legend.  🙂

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some insane things to accomplish so that my neighbors can add to my legendary status…

One response to “The Campbells: An Urban Legend

  1. Robyn C says:

    Way to go Shaina!

Leave a Reply

